Chapter 1. Once upon a time?…. Nah!

typing text writingNaNoWriMo starts in a little over three days, and although I’m raring to go, there is still more planning to be done. Continuing from what I wrote yesterday about the village planning, there is a little more work to do there.

I flow-charted the four areas I mentioned (Village Style, Survival, Religions and Beliefs, Jobs and Occupations) a few more were added (important people, Crime & Punishment, Magic Use, and Customs and Traditions).

I’m proud of the work I did on Religion/Belief and Crime/Punishment although it took me a little longer than I would have liked. I hope to get the remaining areas padded out today and tomorrow.

Luckily for me, there is only one settlement in the novel, so I won’t have to go through this process again, in so much detail. Most of this novel involves a journey so I want to get some basic details down on the weather, local wildlife and fauna as a minimum.

When I’m not planning I’m generally failing to conceive how I’m going to start this novel. From a plotline perspective I know what is going to happen, I just have no idea what the first few sentences are going to be. I just couldn’t think of a way that would give me that initial flow.

Then I figured out a way to do it. I would just start the book as the hero waking up. I know it will be as dull as dishwater but it would initially set me off writing about something that is familiar to me… a morning routine. This uninteresting dross would be cut out presumably in the first revision, but I’d have that first line written and if that first line just happens to be “Bedwyr opened his eyes…” then so be it. At least it’s a little more original than “Once upon a time…”

One thought on “Chapter 1. Once upon a time?…. Nah!”

  1. Ah, the classic wake up line. Well hey – you might wind up liking it enough to keep it, or not. Seems I always wind up changing the beginning of my books like three times. Good luck on Nanowrimo! So excited!

So, what are you thinking?

