NaNoWriMo Day 4: The Disappearing Plot

sinkholes holes ground mining nanowrimoThe word-count for NaNoWriMo is still pouring out. I’m managing to stay slightly ahead of the curve by writing at least 2000 words a day and not 1700.

I can say for certain that depending on the amount of editing I do at the end, It looks like this is going to be around 150k words. 50k is not even gonna be close. It will be about 15k words in before the hero has even set off from the village, and there’s no way I can cram the rest of the novel in the remaining 35k.

Not that I have to of course. There isn’t a criteria for completing the novel, just getting the required word-count.

More gaping plot-holes emerged today but I ignored them with the carefree ‘Don’t-give-a-crap’ attitude I’m learning to have at this stage. There will be plenty of time for all the nervous breakdowns and plot-hole related sobbing at the end.

It’s also a little scary how much I have deviated from my plan. It was only a little change made here and a little change made there, but now I’m not convinced the ending will actually work as it is. I suspect I will have to write that on the fly.

I’m still enjoying myself though and that’s the point… well most of the point, anyway.

So, what are you thinking?

