NaNoWriMo Day 12: The Saturday Slump

The second Saturday of NaNoWriMo arrived and by this time has nearly gone and yet again my word count has not increased as much as it could have done. Thankfully, I got up at around 05:30 this morning and managed to slam out 1000 words before anyone else got up. Since that time my fingers have scarcely touched a keyboard let alone typed.

My plan was to break past the 30,000 word count today so that I could spend all tomorrow playing Elder Scrolls V. I finished this morning at just over 28,100. Giving me 1,900 words to write tomorrow until I’m allowing myself to play it.

Thinking about the lack of word count, a similar thing happened last Saturday as well. Though, as I recall I didn’t write anything last Saturday, so at least there’s some improvement.

Saturdays are just not good days for me at the moment. It’s not because I don’t have any spare time, in fact far from it there is very little I do on a Saturday.

I can only assume that my lack of get-up-and-go from a writing perspective is mostly down to the fact that I don’t have much of a reason to get my brain hurtling around in 5th gear as I do on the other six days of the week. My mind ambles around as if on a country drive, with, admiring the view bu not getting anywhere quickly.

I need something to get my going something that I can do on Saturday to help me keep my mind on edge, something to help the word-count flow.

or maybe, just maybe, I should chill the hell out and relax. Maybe I should have a day where I’m allowed to smell the roses. It does seem so wrong though.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 12: The Saturday Slump”

  1. Pingback: 50,000 words? I’ll get there … eventually! | Elegantly Expressed

So, what are you thinking?

