Jim, Patron Saint of…

English: Knowledge, mural by Robert Lewis Reid...I’ve just seen today’s prompt from The Daily Post.

“In 300 years, if you were to be named the patron saint of X, what would you like X to be? Places, activities, objects — all are fair game.”

I choose to become the Patron Saint of Random Information.

If you put a toilet, a dog-eared encyclopaedia and a small child picking his nose at three points of a triangle, my mind would be the epicentre of the triangle. I am always, fascinated by knowledge the more strange and useless that knowledge is the more of interest it is to me.

Three hundred years into the future is a long time, effectively about nine or ten generations of Jim into the future and three centuries more useless information flowing around out there. It needs to be harnessed lest it be forgotten, and knowing that at one point people used to blow smoke up people’s bottoms as a cure for drowning should never be forgotten, nor how there was once an occupation called Keeper of the Kings Stool, and no we’re not talking about chairs here.

I could sit with Thomas Aquinas (Patron Saint of Universities) and St Jerome (Patron Saint of Librarians), and as I divulged the interesting but normally quite useless information they would be equal parts amazed and bored.

It’s worth remembering that by the time I become a saint, I will have been dead for at least 200 years so apart from the odd appearance on pieces of toast or ink blots I won’t be able to interact with or influence the world or my follow knowledge-gatherers. So before I die I am going to have to make sure that I’ve left enough curious titbits of information secreted away for people to find.

There is one small teeny, tiny downside. I don’t think they’ll let an atheist become a patron saint. I might have to become the Patron Saint of Atheists, although I think that’s an oxymoron.

So who, what or where would you like to be the Patron Saint of?

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 thoughts on “Jim, Patron Saint of…”

  1. I really liked this! I too am a fan of trivia. Maybe I watched one too many quiz shows as a child, I’m not entirely sure. One book I’ve recently re-read is 1339 QI Facts To Make Your Jaw Drop from the show QI over in the UK, which celebrates knowledge for its own sake and the chaotic nature of linear thought. Wheeeee!

    Here’s mine (which also mentions libraries) –
    http://ilenelocke.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/writing-101-st-weenie-friend-to-the-opinionated/

    1. A person after my own heart indeed. I’m a massive fan of Qi and Stephen Fry is fantastic. I’ve got all the books except that one, so I’ll have to get that one. I’d recommend the QI Book of the Dead as a good read too.

      I’ll pop over and have a read yours now. 🙂

      1. Excellent! I don’t own the Book of the Dead yet, but I’ve had a look through.
        If you’ve seen John Lloyd’s AMA Reddit thing, he says that if there was ever to be a replacement for Fry (which is almost a sacrilegious thought, but never mind), it’d be between Sandi Toksvig and David Mitchell. Thoughts?

        P.S.: I know what I’m picturing next time I see a triangle. Haha, too good. Keep it up. 😀

        1. Wow, that’s not even worth thinking about. I think Mr Mitchell would be my top choice. His rants are brilliant, the bee / honey abuse rant he had with Sean Lock was awesome. Near pant-wettingly funny.

          I wonder what they’re going to do when they’ve done series Z. Go to numbers, colors what…?

So, what are you thinking?

