Living Last Week Again? Not for the Sake of Humanity!

Closeup groundhog (Marmota monax)“If I could relive the past week, would I? Would I change anything?” asked the Postaday from The Daily Post.

My week was fairly standard. A dull, boring week at work, doing training which I love about as much as yanking out my nose hair (Yes, I’m at that age now where hair wants to sprout endlessly from places I don’t want it to). Even going back in time, there would be nothing I could do to avoid doing it, so I’d just be going through all the tedium again for no benefit.

I think most people would only relive their week, if it went absolutely blood-guttingly terrible so that they could avoid the situation, or inversely wanting to go through it all again if it was one of the best weeks of your life. Most people don’t tend to get many of those sorts of days though. Most people’s weeks, are plain and boring; you go to work, buy shopping, mow the lawn, and make the kids do their homework. Lather rinse repeat.

Plus, if it is only you experiencing this weird time phenomena then any normal interaction would be weird and tediously predictable after a while. For the entire week, you’d have de ja vu. You’ve already heard every conversation someone will start with you, you’ve answered every question been asked of you already. A week of repeat conversations and interactions await you, which doesn’t sound very interesting to me.

My last point and I apologise but I’m going to get all sci-fi on you, but what about causality? If you act on anything you did in the original week, it could have mind-boggling implications. Oh, and before I start, I’m going for the Back to the Future, Star Trek version of how time works, rather than the Jules Verne version.

Broken station clock as the illustration or th...For example, the first time you go through the week, you need to know where the staples are at work, so you ask the nearest person to you, who in this case happens to be someone of the opposite gender, but you’re too distracted to pay any real attention to her. You find out they’re on the second floor, and walk upstairs to get them.

On the second week, during the re-run you already know where the staples are so you don’t need to ask, you go straight for them on the second floor and pick them up, this time completely missing out the interaction with that person that you had in the original run.

In the original timeline, she remembers you a week or so later and you start talking, eventually going out for a drink, which becomes a date, which becomes a relationship, followed by marriage, kids, one of whom is destined to find a cure for all cancers.

In the second week, because you didn’t speak to her, she doesn’t remember you and consequently the talk, dates, and the marriage never happens. The cure for cancers isn’t found until decades later. You’ve inadvertently changed your own timeline, and the future of humanity.

So, in answer to the question if I could change anything, would I? Hell no! Playing with chaos theory is like playing Russian roulette, who’s to say what the full extent of my actions would be over time.

Have I gone in to this a little too deeply? Maybe. What do you think?

So, what are you thinking?

