Age Old Questions

broken smashed clock time age“Age is just a number,” says the well-worn adage. But is it a number you care about, or one you tend (or try) to ignore?

That’s the daily prompt from Friday’s Postaday. Is age something I care about? On balance I’d say that yes, my age is something that can bother me, especially when I think about the big events in life, it’s hard not to think of that ticking clock in the background. The clock constantly telling you that you’re running out of time and that if you don’t kick yourself into gear soon it’s going to be too late and you’re going to be stuck with a boatload of wasted chances, regret and disappointment. Score one for the negative psyche, eh?

Yet, despite how the last paragraph sounds, my age doesn’t overly concern me. Like many other things, it’s something I try not to think about, but then again I’m only 33 and I suspect that if you asked me in 40 years time I would have a different opinion.

Age is something we all have in common, and give or take a decade or so we’re all on the planet for the same length of time, so it’s perfectly natural for age to be a context for a lot of things. Like above when I said” ask me in 40 years” when I typed that it seemed like an eternally long time away and I felt pretty young just by saying it. But If I flip it around and start making references to things in my past then suddenly the reverse becomes horribly true.

Presumably it is this effect that the passing of time has on us, which has led to so many sayings and quotes being created to help us deal with it.

  • Live today like it’s your last day
  • Time waits for no man/woman
  • No time like the present
  • Time flies when you’re having fun
  • No time to waste
  • Time makes fools of us all
  • Time is of the essence
  • Running out of time
  • Time well spent
  • Time of your life

…and that’s just a small selection that was buzzing around the top of my head now. The way we deal with time is contradictory. On the one hand we are encouraged to make every second count, live life to the fullest, and to make sure that you squeeze every last drop of achievement out of your one and only (unless you believe in reincarnation or past lives etc.) life. On the other hand you are also encouraged to take your time and relax, enjoy your life. There are crossovers but these two ways of thinking do oppose each other.

Everyone chooses one of these directions for living; either deliberately or through uncontrolled circumstances. I know that I am a relaxer, but a relaxer who then worries about not achieving. Nothing is ever simple. So for you? Is it race or relaxation? Dreaming or dominating?

2 thoughts on “Age Old Questions”

So, what are you thinking?

