The Trouble with Gary

“We often capture strangers in photos we take in public. Open your photo library, and stop at the first picture that features a person you don’t know. Now tell the story of that person.”

I had a fair bit of difficulty with today’s Daily Post, as I spend a fair bit of time and effort to make sure that people I don’t know aren’t in my photos. Well, after trawling through all of the photo’s on my mobile, I found one that had some people in it.

Dunham Massey Stamford Military Hospital National Trust

For those who are interested the photo itself is of Dunham Massey Stamford Military Hospital in Cheshire, UK. You can find out more about it here and it’s well worth a visit.

The Trouble with Gary

“Lot of people here today?” said Gerald, as he gazed across the water.

‘Well, Bank Holiday innit?’ replied Bert dismissively swallowing a large piece sandwich.

They both sat in silence for a while, just watching the visitors scurrying about. Young children with ice-cream all over their faces ran about excitedly, while dogs endlessly chased after balls and other dogs before tired and hot adults called them all back.

“Gerald?”

“Yes Bert”

“Have you ever, you know been unfaithful to Bernadette” smiled Bert wryly.

“What? You mean have I chased other birds?”

“Well, not just chased, no. I mean chased, caught and fu…”

“No I haven’t!”

“It’s ok, just wandering.”

They both sat in silence, overlooking the lake and just watched. Minutes past, and the sun disappeared behind some clouds.

“Do I look like the type who would cheat?” asked Gerald, suddenly quite insecure.

Bert looked back at his friend. “No of course not” though the seconds it took for him to answer weren’t exactly comforting. “It was just something Gary said.”

“Gary!” Gerald almost spat out his sandwich. “You don’t listen to anything Gary says. He’s a cock. He’s always had it in for me. What did he say?”

“He said that he’d heard you got it on with Harriet.”

“That lying sack of…”

“Look I shouldn’t have said anything, I’m sorry. Next time we see him we’ll kick his ass.”

“Shall we go? I don’t think anything more is going to happen here today” said Bert.

Gerald sighed “Yeah, sounds like a plan. They stopped throwing bread to us ages ago.”

Bert and Gerald waded down into the water and swam back away from the house.

“I’m gonna kick Gary’s ass”

 

2 thoughts on “The Trouble with Gary”

So, what are you thinking?

