Drop Dat Bomb

Writing“When was the last time you experienced writer’s block? What do you think brought it about — and how did you dig your way out of it?”

It hasn’t really come up much since this Daily Post, but I am a writer. I’ve long since learned to dump the word ‘Aspiring’ as someone once told me you either write or you don’t there’s no aspiration there, aspiration to be a famous author? Yes, aspiration to write? Nope. Writing doesn’t require aspiration you just do it, and hope you get a little better each time.

Anyway, during the first draft of my current novel, I got writers block. I just got bored with the story. I hadn’t exactly written myself into a plot-hole or anything, but I was just not having any fun writing it. Something needed to be done, I was once told that if you’re not having fun writing it, how in hell is anyone going to have fun reading it, a very good point I’m sure you’ll agree.

You know what I did, to break myself out of the block?

I dropped a bomb, and this could almost be literal.

I had a fairly well structured plan for the novel, and I was sticking to it, and that exactly was the problem. I was bored because it held no excitement for me, I knew exactly what was going to happen.

So I just threw my plan away, and wrote something that would shake everything up. Specifically, I had two of my main characters get kidnapped. Suddenly, I didn’t know what was going to happen. My characters were in a situation that no-one (not even the author) had foreseen, and goddamn it I was writing again and I was enjoying it as well. It was exciting.

I knew that I would have to go back and re-plan at some stage to make everything meet up, but there is every chance that these changes would be edited out anyway, after all I had no real issue with my plot. The purpose of the exercise was not necessarily to create awesomely exciting plot developments, but to get me writing.

As long as you can keep your enthusiasm fueled and you keep writing to the end, you have that chance to remove bits, add bits or just plain whack the novel with the editing pole, but you have to find that way to keep writing.

That’s how I did it, when was the last time you had writers block, and what did you do to get past it?

6 thoughts on “Drop Dat Bomb”

So, what are you thinking?

