My Show

“You’ve just been named the casting director of your favourite television show (or movie franchise). The catch: you must replace the entire cast — with your friends and family. Who gets which role?”

As a writer this is something that I think many of us like to do. Rewrite movies and TV programs we’re watching, as well as recasting anyone who doesn’t hit our impossible expectations.

In this case the biggest difficulty I have is that I tend to watch an awful lot of Sci-fi and Fantasy stuff, and apart from Lost in Space they don’t really go with the whole family unit thing. Plus, when was the last time I actually did what the daily prompt said? They’re just a guide anyway, right?

Well, I’m going to flip this around and think of it this way.

“You’ve just been named the casting director of a new television show (or movie franchise) about your friends and family. Which actors would you get to play each role?”

There that’s better.

So I guess, there’s no better place to start than me. Who would I want to play me, or rather who would realistically play me? Well, being a red-head there aren’t that many people who could play me. Well, I guess Damian Lewis, the chap from Homeland would work.

Damien Lewis

My wife would be played by Cameron Diaz, and it’s not wishful thinking either. They do share a lot of common traits and physical features, well I certainly think so, so Cameron’s going there.

Cameron Diaz

Her friend; moody, yet practical would be played by Janine Garofalo

Janeane Garofalo

There’s a place for Dame Judi Dench as my mother, same haircut and everything. Perfect match.

M (James Bond)

Final spot, because let’s face it I could go on forever like this, would be for my best mate. He’d be played by Stephen Moyer, though he’d be a little more light-hearted than he is in true Blood.

Stephen Moyer, actor

 

Special places go to Dame Maggie Smith, Michael Caine and Morgan Freeman.Maggie Smith

English: Morgan Freeman at the Cannes film fes...

Variety Club Showbusiness Awards 2008

 

 

 

 

 

 

There’s not really anyone they can play, but goddamn it, it’s my show and I’ll have in it who I want. :p

2 thoughts on “My Show”

So, what are you thinking?

