A Slice of Snobbery

12 inch hand-tossed pizza crust

It’s daily prompt time, and today it’s…

“Even the most laid back and egalitarian among us can be insufferable snobs when it comes to coffee, music, cars, beer, or any other pet obsession where things have to be just so. What are you snobbish about?”

What am I snobbish about? Is there anything that I think I have superior taste on? I am particular about a great many things but I think, and this is undoubtedly open to argument though forgive me if I immediately and unavoidably judge you, but I am snobbish about one thing…

Pizza…

Oh yes, god good I love the stuff. In fact the name of the blog is a derivative of my two favourite things, pizza and gaming. Alright, I know it’s odd that there hasn’t been a great deal of talk about either of those things yet, but I’m sure you’ll forgive me.

I know what you’re thinking; liking food is not being snobbish about it.

Well no, it doesn’t have to be but I know not only how I like my pizza but I know exactly how I like each type of pizza including ideal crust type, topping and accompanying dip and/or sides prepared and served.

It’s not just the taste you have to consider, but a number of other factors. For example, should you have a really hot pizza on a deep-pan base? Well you could, but bear in mind you are likely to drink more and water and dough mean you could be filling up far quicker than you want. No, keep the hot pizzas thin and crispy, with a nice cooling garlic/herb or sour cream dip and maybe get some nachos as a side. Likewise, a vegetarian thin crust may leave you lacking, so a stuffed crust-deep pan can help to fill you.

I think what irks me is the large variety of stuffed crusts you can get these days. I think the latest ones I’ve seen have hamburgers or hotdogs stuffed into the pizza crust. It’s an interesting idea, but no, the crust should never over-power the topping. I found these hamburger crust pizzas overly filling and most of the crusts went into the bin because the taste was flat and stodgy, and just didn’t go with any of the toppings.

Wow, this post has made me hungry…

13 thoughts on “A Slice of Snobbery”

So, what are you thinking?

