Fingers Crossed

Stopwatch countdown timer watch pocket watchIt’s daily prompt time

10 minutes. You and your keyboard (or smartphone. Or tablet. Or pen and paper). No pauses, no edits, no looking back: it’s free-write time!

Ah I love these ten minutes challenges, and unlike last time I actually have something to post about and not the random drivel that I posted last time, well not as random. The Euro millions lottery this Friday is up to 100 million pounds, I’m not sure what that is in dollars and with ten minutes I don’t have time to find out.

So there’s a work syndicate where if we win we split it five ways, you know the drill. Anyway, I have thought a lot about what I would do with twenty million quid. It is a stupendous amount of money, and to all intents and purposes it is far more than I should ever need, but what would I do with it?

There would be dull stuff, of course, pay off the mortgage, get that loft extension and so on. I don’t think I’d move, it took us so long to get the house the way we like it that to move and start all over again just seems heretical.

I don’t think I would really go overboard at all to be honest with you. I can’t see me spending the cash on expensive sports cars, yachts, million dollar mansions and haircuts that cost $20,000 (I’m looking at you Bieber). I’d quit my job of course, there’s no way I would continue to go there with all that money.

A portion of it would go to worthwhile causes, I know a fair few people in my life who have had some pretty shitty times as of late, and I know money can’t cure ills, but it can go a hell of a long way to helping.

I’d knuckle down and write, now that there wouldn’t be any financial considerations, maybe even start a home business where profit wasn’t overly important it was just doing something worthwhile, some way to keep me busy.

There are those that say “I wouldn’t let it change me, all that money. I’d still be the same person”. Well, I would let the money change me, not in a bad way, well not deliberately anyway (yeah, I know money is the root of all evil) but so few people get the chance to do exactly what they want (within legal limits) in their life.

Well, that’s my ten minutes up, I hope this post made sense if not, well there’s other posts See you soon.

Fingers crossed for tomorrow night

10 thoughts on “Fingers Crossed”

  1. Someone’s got to win, no reason it shouldn’t be you 😉 If I ever won (not that I enter anyway!) I’d give most of it away, keep enough to live simply for the rest of my life in the place I love, and spend the rest on getting my books published and promoted 😀

  2. Money is not the root of all evil. Money is just a tool that can be used for both good and evil. The quote actually says that the LOVE of money is the root of all evil; that is, the worshipping of money, the goal of getting money being the main motivation for everything a person does. We all need money. It’s how we regard it and use it that matters.

So, what are you thinking?

