25 Hours? No Change

broken smashed clock time ageSo, it appears that astral physics and temporal mechanics have been added to the omnipotent array of skills in the Daily Prompts’ arsenal.

“Good news — another hour has just been added to every 24-hour day (don’t ask us how. We have powers). How do you use those extra sixty minutes?”

I wasn’t supposed to ask why but I do wonder how they did it. I guess the only way this could be done would be by slowing down the earth’s rotation by 1/24th, or 70mph to make each rotation last 25 hours rather than 24, though I’m sure the consequences would be monumental across the globe, tidal shifts, earthquakes and so on.

Anyway, I’m going to ignore all that, and I’m even going to ignore the likelihood that this extra hour would eventually just get absorbed into a standard work day; the default work-shift would be 9-6. How long would it take for us as a species to become accustomed to this change? How long before this 25th hour became exactly the same as any other hour, filled with exactly the same type of stuff as all the other 24? Sadly, probably only a few months.

Anyway, I’m not going to look a gift-deity in the mouth, as I would still get an extra two hours of weekend, Hoorah!

What would I do with it? Well, I know what I would like to do with it. It would be my dedicated writing time, that extra hour a day would be the time I sat down and wrote without any distractions. Well, that would be the plan. There were all those times I thought about writing or wondered if I would ever find the time to do it, well clearly this 25th hour is the perfect solution. Right?

Ha ha no, well maybe but I seriously doubt it. No matter how much time you are given, your priorities will always shine through. If you want to do something, nine times out of ten you can find the time to do it. I’m not saying that writing isn’t a priority of mine, as it is but I have so many others, friends, family, work that inevitably sometimes things have taken a back seat for a few months.

An extra hour isn’t what’s needed but an examination of what is important to us. Have another look at what you want to achieve in your life and just use one of those good old 24 hours you already have to do it. Though at the same time, it’s important not to stress about things you don’t get done, de-prioritising is not the same as ignoring something.

Well, that’s as much advice as I’ll go into here as I am hardly qualified to give any.

I wonder, as Big Ben’s clock face would have to be changed (as would billions of other clocks) to incorporate the 25th hour, would they create a new 25 hour clock-face or just install a digital clock up there instead?

4 thoughts on “25 Hours? No Change”

So, what are you thinking?

