Carefully Following the Curve

Trailblazer fire line burningToday Mr Prompt asks me if I have ever been a trailblazer, thinking or doing something that’s new before anyone else…

“From your musical tastes to your political views, were you ever way ahead of the rest of us, adopting the new and the emerging before everyone else?”

In a word, no. I’ve never been ahead of the curve. I just don’t seem to be in the know. You know these people who just seem to find out about that lesser brand gadget that performs better than the popular ones, or the fantastic unsigned band that are yet to get their break, or that mould-breaking indie-film that showcases a brilliant director, well I’m not one of them and I probably never will be.

I do know that these people aren’t just told about all this new stuff, they go out and search for it. They search the net, trawl magazines and speak to other people in the know. They have a love of the subject and they have to find out as much as they can about it. I get that, and that’s why I miss out.

The other reason is that I will only ever stand-out when I conclude that it is safe to do so. You need confidence and a healthy dose of courage to be a trail-blazer, I think. After all that book, movie, band political view has not been publicly tested yet, it could be heralded as the greatest thing since sliced bread, though, I would argue that the invention of the internet, and space travel to name two modern inventions dwarf the achievement of slicing bread a fair bit and it’s probably time that we updated that saying for the 21st Century…

Where, was I?

Oh yeah, it could be heralded as a fantastic discovery but equally it could also be universally hated and you could find yourself standing alone. Then what do you do, stand by your opinion or “fold faster than Superman on laundry day”?

Like I said, I often feel the need to stand out. My tattoo’s piercings and crazy hair up until recently, show that I need to stand out on my own, but only when I am in complete control and it is completely risk-free.

Maybe I’ve never felt strongly enough about something to put myself out on a limb like that. My issues make me extremely risk-averse and this is probably just another slice of that. It’s difficult to say exactly why I’m not ahead of the curve, lack of commitment, confidence, luck, enthusiasm who knows, but is it really a bad thing?

I think I’m perfectly happy to just follow the curve, gather everyone’s opinions about stuff and then to do what is proven to be the best or safest option. No waves, a very peaceful (who said boring?), calm life with no stress.

Ha ha no stress? Maybe not.

 

4 thoughts on “Carefully Following the Curve”

So, what are you thinking?

