My Own Zodiac

Cancer zodiak sign. Also at Unicode U+264B (♋).

“You’re tasked with creating a brand new astrological sign for the people born around your birthday — based solely on yourself. What would your new sign be, and how would you describe those who share it?”

Ah ha, in this daily prompt do I sense another chance for me to be self-deprecating? I think I do, but maybe this one would be a little too easy. Plus, I haven’t had nightmares for a while so I’m feeling fairly chipper. Hmm well maybe not chipper, exactly. It’s all relative.

Right, so I’m looking for an animal or person that explains each and every one of my peccadilloes and idiosyncrasies? Not an easy feat as, correct me if I’m wrong but most animals don’t have the higher brain functions that humans get. Although, maybe you can get neurotic animals I don;t know.

Anyway, I’m sidestepping the point somewhat? So I’ll stick to generalities and see which animal best suits those qualities.

Right, my more animalistic qualities are…

  • Defensive
  • Skittish
  • Omnivore
  • Careful
  • Intelligent
  • Loner

Does that conjure up the image of any particular animal for anyone?

Well, luckily it doesn’t have to be a particularly cool animal, because there was no way I was going to come out as being like a tiger, a wolf, a leopard or anything like that.

I think, and I might be wrong about this, but I might actually be fairly similar to my favourite animal.

I think I’m the zodiac sign of the badger.

badger english
Unfortunately, I’m not this cute

You know what I think I can deal with that. They’re fairly big, brutish creatures when they feel trapped or scared, but most of the time they keep themselves to themselves and avoid anything that might endanger them.

I honestly thought I was going to end up being a hedgehog, or a field mouse or something. I’m quite pleased with that result.

What would your sign be?

 

6 thoughts on “My Own Zodiac”

So, what are you thinking?

