Egotistical Absurdity

Cousin It adams family long hair monsterYet more time away from the blog not commenting on stuff in a random and I hope fairly interesting way, but I find myself in the rather unenviable position of not really being arsed to do anything. Pro-activity is not really my buzzword at the moment.

Having said all that, I’ve found a few minutes out of my day to write something. I’m not entirely sure what it’s going to be or where it’s going to go, but at least it’s something.

“We all have that one eccentric relative who always says and does the strangest things. In your family, who’s that person, and what is it that earned him/her that reputation?”

Right, so this daily prompt then? Who is the one eccentric person in my family, who says and does the strangest things? That’s a tricky one; my family is full of people who don’t think, how should I say, normally? There are some pretty messed up things that have happened that I am not going to go in here, and some not-very-niceness all wrapped up under a faux-Christian ideology which I am also not going to go in to here.

Even through all that weirdness, there is the fantastic irony that I am probably still considered the weird eccentric one. After all, the very definition of weirdness is being an atheist with tattoos and piercings. Well it is with certain members of my family.

To be completely honest with you, I get an odd ego-boost to know that people think I’m weird, as if I have a pathological need to not fit in. There’s a certain amount of internal weirdness that would certainly qualify me for the title of ‘Family’s Weirdest Person’ but in most cases it has been my choice to push the weird envelope, and fit into that character.

It does make me wonder, where this whole chicken and egg situation began (as I suppose you do with all chicken and egg scenarios) is my ego rooted into seeming weird because that makes me stand out, or do I stand out because my ego is rooted into seeming weird.

Turns out over the past few months that I am lot weirder than I thought I was originally, and tragically I think I am still getting those ego boosts. You gotta love inferiority complexes, especially when you obsessively think that you’re making up all your obsessional thoughts. That’s right; the award for most stupid piece of irony goes to…

Hmmm I really didn’t see this post going in that direction. I could edit the hell out of it of course, but, nah, where would be the fun in that.

What do you think?

 

6 thoughts on “Egotistical Absurdity”

  1. Great post for the prompt. “Cousin It!” Wish I had thought of that. Yes, I agree, we are all much weirder than we think we are, and that is what makes life so wonderful. Blessings.

  2. I love it when I discover the pockets of weirdness in my own story that I had previously overlooked – or that I didn’t realize were weird until they got compared to ‘the normal’ – it’s like finding a twenty dollar bill in a pair of jeans that you forgot about.

So, what are you thinking?

