Someone Else’s Island

English: One of the uninhabited islands of Lak...

It has been a long time since I’ve brought Captain Semantic and General Pedantry out to play and they do love an outing, where they can play and frolic all within pre-agreed and consensual boundaries. Today, feels like they need to get involved, just because the daily prompt today raises so many questions, it would unfair to keep them penned in all day.

Oh, before I go any further I don’t want anyone to think that I am making fun or having a go at either the prompt writer or The Daily Post blog, I just love diving into the detail and then re-emerging with my mouth full of tangled ideas, spitting meanings and implications into anything I want to at the time.

Well today’s prompt is…

“We’ve all been asked what five objects we’d take with us to a desert island. Now it’s your best friend’s (or close relative’s) turn to be stranded: what five objects would you send him/her off with?”

There are some questions that I would like the answer to, most of those answers could seriously change the outcome of this prompt.

  1. Do I know that I am stranding my friend on a desert island? If so, wouldn’t that make me a rather shitty person, to do that to someone I consider a friend. If I was willing to do that to my friend, chances are I wanted them dead, so the items would be some Uranium, Ebola, a pin-less hand grenade, a rather large angry-looking monster and a picture of the rather large looking monster’s wife with my friend in flagrento delicto.
  2. Is there a limit on the size of the item you can supply? For example could I supply him with a cruise-liner with a full crew, which I’m sure you’ll agree is wonderfully handy in ‘stranded on an island’ scenarios. Or what about a fully functioning village complete with local amenities and a thriving tourist community?
  3. Do these items have to exist in the real world? Could I just give my friend, a holo-deck, a transporter, a power source capable of generating a large amount of power… ah hell, I’d just give him the Enterprise, or better yet the Death Star.

Its part of my whole mental condition that I am so afraid of doing something wrong that I must have everything spelled out for me like a moron, but I think there are still some valid points.

Ultimately, he is my friend so if I was going to be callous enough to put him on the island, I would like to think it was because it would in some way benefit him, or at least not hurt him and I could extract him when I wanted and bring him home.

So, with everything said and trying to get into the spirit of the question. that’s right Captain Semantic and General Pedantry, you’ve had your time now. off you pop, into your anally neat little shoe-boxes.

So, what I would give him would be.

  • A power-generator.
  • A large TV
  • The full set of every Star Trek film and TV programme ever made (even Enterprise, which for some unfathomable reason he loves, despite the horrendous theme-tune.)
  • A fridge/larder stocked with lemon meringue pies and tea making equipment.
  • One instant return-home button, one charge only.

Hmm, that wasn’t so difficult.

So, for anyone who can actually answer a simple question would five items would you give your desert island friend?

2 thoughts on “Someone Else’s Island”

  1. I think you have some great and original ideas. I am also happy to have known what you have written on the prompt. I look forward to coming back for more of what you are offering on your blog.

So, what are you thinking?

