Too Early to Rise

Hand Alarm Clock awake sleep wokenIt’s daily prompt time, and today is all about what I have to do as soon as I get up. I’ll try and not let it devolve into a woe-is-me-situation, but the brain wants what the brain wants.

Right, so the prompt is.

“What are the things you need to do within 30 minutes of waking up to ensure your day gets off on the right foot? What happened the last time you didn’t do one of these things?”

Firstly, chances are I am up early. I leave the house for work at about 07:00 but I tend to wake up anytime between 03:30 and 05:30 at the moment. So the very first thing I do, is look at my watch and try to decide if it is worth getting up.

Often it is, because my choice is lie there in bed and let negative thoughts flood my sleep deprived mind, or get up, do something positive and do my best to stave them off. Not every day is like that of course, I do have some good days, but generally speaking it’s an early start for me.

Anyway, I’m up and I’m understandably a little bit groggy, so coffee is the next thing on the agenda. I got given a venti coffee mug a couple of Christmases ago and it is a godsend for a large instant coffee. This year I have been bought a cafetierre mug so sometimes it’s a filter coffee.

Oh, and god knows whether the coffee is the thing waking me up, it could be. It’s in a line-up of a few other things, but right now it at least brings me back to normal levels. In fact someone once said, that you should drink coffee all the time or never, otherwise you zig-zag all over the place. Which I seem to be doing anyway. Oh well.

Well, I’m awake and I’m now caffeinated or at least I  soon will be, and with work a little more than an hour or two  away, it’s time to get some gaming done.

Oh, before I go on, there might be a chance that I’m waking up just to game. Again, I don’t know if this is true, but it is within the realms of possibility.

That, my friends, fellow bloggers, and people who Google kindly brought here, is what I do within the first 30 minutes of waking up. Although this passive almost lazy approach to mornings is changing, slowly but surely.

This year, I am going to do my best to fill those mornings with practical stuff. I’ll write, I’ll exercise, I’ll do something positive. The theory being, that if I do something positive with that time, I will feel more positive with myself, and then maybe, just maybe, I’ll stop waking up so goddamn early.

What do you do in that all-important first 30 minutes…?

Related Posts
7 thoughts on “Too Early to Rise”

  1. that is a good thing to start the day with something positive. I start my day with checking messages on my phone, that includes updates from the blog. It is pretty much good thing to say thanks to all the people just as you wake up.
    And thank you for including my post 🙂

    1. Indeed, though sometimes it’s a coin toss between negativity due to inactivity and negativity due to bad writing. Bad writing negativity is the lesser of the two evils…

So, what are you thinking?

