Never Get Board of the Past

View of a game of Strange Synergy, a card and ...Today’s daily prompt is about sensations that can figuratively whip you through time, all the way back to a time of innocence and fads.

“Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.”

There aren’t many sensations I can remember from my past. I’m not a supersensitive person by any stretch of the imagination. There is one smell though which takes me right back my childhood and nearly every Christmas or Birthday.

The smell of new board games.

I wouldn’t say it’s a very nice smell exactly but it is very evocative. I used to lift the lid, and be faced with a mixture of new cardboard, ink and plastic sensations.

It wasn’t just the smell though; nearly every part of a new board game triggered some part of my character.

  • The perfect box played to my geometry obsession, as did the plastic wrapped cards, perfect and untouched and the sprues of plastic pieces.
  • There were the pristine rules, which I would painstakingly go through before even thinking about setting up the game.
  • Even down to the childish but painfully funny farting noise that the box would make when the lid was put back on.

Board games played with me, pardon the pun.

I still love board games now and even though I’m an avid gamer, I still have more fun playing boardgames with other people than playing online with them. It’s just so much more personal.

I haven’t really grown up. I can play chess, backgammon or solitaire but I have just as much fun playing Going for Broke, Game of Life or Mousetrap.

Related Posts
2 thoughts on “Never Get Board of the Past”

  1. I would never have thought of this but yes! I love that smell… I got a game for Christmas and when I opened it I was reminded of being a child, it’s such a strong and satisfying smell… reminds me of simpler times 😀

So, what are you thinking?

