Give me Just a Little More Time.

traffic journey commute work cars traffic jam

Right, well my plan seemed fairly simple today. Head out reasonably early, go on a half an hour bike ride and then end up at a popular branded coffee shop chain for a gorgeous cup o’ the black stuff. Where upon I would retrieve ‘yon trusty laptop’ and write a blog post about my new job and why I am so excited.

Although, now I’m sitting at the popular branded coffee shop with my gorgeous cup o’ the black stuff I find that I can’t connect to the internet. For the love of god, won’t someone think of the children.

No… internet… can’t function. Can’t… see cat videos on Youtube or see what people had for lunch on Facebook. Oh, actually that clearly doesn’t matter but it does put a bit of a crimp on blogging. Blogging not writing, so like network connections of the late nineties, this post is going to have delay of about half an hour. Or so I thought until I remembered my phone has tethering.

All that is completely unimportant and rather dull, sadly. However it was just a segway that apparently went on far longer than it should have.

Anyway, about my new job. After looking on and off for a new job for about a year and gradually becoming in more and more of a worse state, I’ve been offered a new job, and rather obviously I’ve taken it.

From a work level it is so much more suited to the way I work and what I can do, but I’m not going to really touch on that because although it is a good reason, it is only the secondary reason for why I moved.

The primary reason is time. Currently, because I can’t drive I am reliant on public transport and my journey to and from work can in the worst of journey’s take away 3 hours of my life. My new job is half an hour away.

Let’s just do the rough maths on those figures. A difference of 2 hours traveling every work day, works out at 10 hours saved a week, 40 hours saved a month, and about 500 hrs or over 20 days’ worth of my time saved over the year.

20 days! Its phenomenal when you think of it in those terms. For the neh-sayers out there who would tell me that I could never actually use all twenty hours of that time, a lot of it would be frittered away on other things. Like the ten pounds you withdraw from an ATM for a one pound item and because you have that change in your pocket it gets spent on other crap things you may not have bought if you didn’t have the change.

Is it like that? Yeah, maybe.

Ultimately the point is that my new job is a lot less demanding on my personal life. A consistent twelve-hour work day has brought on anxiety and stress which has exacerbated my insomnia, which in turn added to my anxiety and stress and so on. It’s not a viable way of working. I certainly don’t love my job to death.

In short, I just have this feeling that 2015 is going to be a bit more happy-happy-joy-joy than 2014, which in it’s own horrible and unique way was a large bucket of pigs offal with so much crap going on both personally and with friends and family that it is best buried deep, and never thought of again. Rather like Dharma & Greg in that respect.

2 thoughts on “Give me Just a Little More Time.”

So, what are you thinking?

