Still? Really?

It’s amazing how there are some mental triggers that never truly go away.

No matter how old you get, or however much you try to logically think round them, there’s normally some stuff, some tiny little silly thing that can mentally bring us to our knees.

Everybody has something like that to some extent, and how we deal with it (or not as the case may be) is different for all of us.

Is it the offhand comment from a loved one that makes us reach for the big jumper and ice cream, or the casual joke that makes us so angry we want to slap someone. Maybe, it’s just that odd glance someone just gave you that makes you rush to the bathroom and check you don’t have anything on your face. They come in many forms.

One of my biggest triggers and I’ve had it since secondary school (high school for any US readers) is that the sound of teenage girls laughing makes me very nervous and paranoid, I feel as if they are laughing at me.

That, ladies and gentleman is how you make your ego work against you.

Even to this day, when I have, in comparison a fairly ok self body image it still gets me. It gets me to the point that I actively try and listen to them.

Here’s the thing. I’m not sure if I’m listening to prove they’re not talking about me, or listening to prove they are.

I never really find out if course. Well not to a point where I have an answer I’m happy with. Is there an answer is be happy with.

Oscar Wilde himself said…

“There’s only one thing worse than being talked about, and that’s not being talked about.”

The important thing to remember is that without confirmation the negative emotion attached to this thought has been conjured up by nothing more than a baseless opinion.

Though despite what you know, there’ll always be something that can find that chink in your armour.

We are all human after all.

So, what are you thinking?

