Childish Arrogance

“Which subject in school did you find impossible to master? Did math give you hives? Did English make you scream? Do tell!”

Hmmm, interesting Daily Post.

Well, as arrogant as this may sound. I don’t actually remember having any difficulty with any subjects really. Well, not at Secondary School (for those across the pond, we’re talking education between 11-16 year olds, so not sure how it translates.) I found most things pretty darn easy.

Yes, I can almost sense the contempt that you’re feeling towards me, and to be quite honest, if I’d heard someone say that, I’d be feeling the same thing.

However, if I can interrupt your knife sharpening and shotgun loading for just a moment. Everything changed when I went to college (16-18, Is that High School or College?)

Anyway, because I had such little difficulty before I rather foolishly expected College to be exactly the same. I figured I could just coast through the lessons and my natural ability to perform well in tests would see me through.

Oh, how wrong I was. First test and my results smacked me around the face like a breeze-block. What the hell was wrong? I was doing exactly what I had done for the past six years. What gives?

Hmmm must be a one off. Maybe I was tired. So the next test, and the same thing happened. Ok, there is something decidedly weird going on here.

I wasted half my time there expecting the outcome to change by doing the same thing. I’m fairly certain that’s the definition of madness.

It turns out that at college (and in fact anywhere) you need to put some effort in to get good results. Who would have thought?

Luckily, I still had a year left to put some effort in, and turn around my confusing  scores of ungraded. I left college with three E’s. Which is a far cry from the A’s and B’s I was used to at Secondary School.

There was also a certain beer selling establishment that may have also contributed to the lack of good scores, yet that remains unproven.

So, there you go. The lesson to take from this, you want the results? Put the work in?

One thought on “Childish Arrogance”

  1. Well, I can understand how you felt at the time. Being in the local stream for so long had left me complacent as little effort was needed to score. Until I entered a private school with the IGCSE syllabus and got a harsh smack to the face by reality.

So, what are you thinking?

